COUNCIL

MINUTE OF SPECIAL MEETING OF ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL

Sederunt:

Lord Provost Peter Stephen, <u>Chairperson;</u> Depute Provost Jacqueline Dunbar; and

COUNCILLORS

GEORGE ADAM YVONNE ALLAN MARIE BOULTON SCOTT CASSIE RONALD CLARK NORMAN COLLIE **NEIL COONEY** JOHN CORALL **IRENE CORMACK** WILLIAM CORMIE BARNEY CROCKETT **KATHARINE DEAN** ALAN DONNELLY JAMES FARQUHARSON MARTIN GREIG JAMES HUNTER LEONARD IRONSIDE MURIEL JAFFREY JAMES KIDDIE JENNIFER LAING

GORDON LESLIE CALLUM McCAIG MARK McDONALD AILEEN MALONE ANDREW MAY ALAN MILNE JAMES NOBLE **GEORGE PENNY** JOHN REYNOLDS RICHARD ROBERTSON JENNIFER STEWART JOHN STEWART **KEVIN STEWART** WENDY STUART JOHN WEST **KIRSTY WEST** JILLIAN WISELY WILLIAM YOUNG and IAN YUILL

Lord Provost Peter Stephen, in the Chair

COUNCIL 19 May 2010

1 MASTRICK/SHEDDOCKSLEY COMMUNITY COUNCIL - CG/10/061

With reference to Article 9 of the minute of meeting of the Corporate Policy and Performance Committee of 4th March 2010, the Council had before it a report by the Director of Corporate Governance which sought approval in principle to alter the Council's Scheme of Establishment of Community Councils to the effect that the name Mastrick/Sheddocksley Council be changed to Mastrick, Sheddocksley and Summerhill Community Council.

The report stated that the proposal had been approved unanimously by the Corporate Policy and Performance Committee and now required to be advertised as necessitated by statute.

It was explained that in terms of Section 53 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as amended, a decision of a local authority to review its Scheme of Establishment of Community Councils, shall be by resolution passed by not less than two-thirds of the members voting thereon at a local authority meeting specially convened for the purpose with notice of the object.

The Council resolved:-

in terms of Section 53(3)(a) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as amended, that public notice be given inviting comments on the proposal to amend the present Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils to the effect that the name Mastrick/Sheddocksley Community Council be changed to Mastrick, Sheddocksley and Summerhill Community Council.

- PETER STEPHEN, Lord Provost.